A Change in Perspective

riverice

The snow is falling in Connecticut today. The Connecticut River, still recovering from the attack of -18 degree C weather, is covered with ice and snow. As I watch the flowless river, three large birds find a rare breach in the ice and touch down–not another living thing in sight.

As I drive the long way back home, the roads not yet plowed, my mind begins to wander.

Things are slower today. 20kpm is about as fast as I can drive; there are no other cars out; the road is mine; my entire world is caked in a shallow layer of snow. White snow–yet unpolluted by the passing trucks and the settling dust in the air. Purity.

It seems perfect analogy for my life at the moment: a slow down. Not yet…but soon.

In less than eight months, I will be living in Vietnam. In ten months I will long for golden leaves and apple cider. And in twelve months, I will miss the snow–the cold–the purity of winter air.

It dawns on me that for the last three years, even since we moved from Alaska, I have taken far too little time to enjoy my surrounding. Too focused on work, too focused on school, too focused on travel.

I have to admit, a lot has been accomplished in the past three years. While diving headlong into the grueling-yet-rewarding boarding school life, I took on a full time master’s program, took on some committee roles, took on a NCTM presentation, took on a leadership role for the summer program, took on…took on…

Too much taking on…not enough taking in…and perhaps too much taking out on…

It seems that louder and louder over the past three years I’ve been singing to myself–to my life–a song by Dierks Bentley: (this will probably be the only time you catch me making reference to a country song…bask, I say, BASK!)

And yet today, with the snow on the ground, I can feel my perspective changing.

As I look back at my time in Korea, living life at 1000mph, full of angst, uncertainty, volatility, and youth…I’ve now what I was looking for then. I have the best girl, and best relationship, I can imagine. I have a respected career. I have a degree, a plan…a future.

I’ve been focused on my immediate situation so intently–a necessity when living with so few moments to spare.

But now, I have to zoom out. I’m no longer just a resident of Connecticut, I am a transient–my friendships will be cut short.

I’m no longer just a member of my school community, I am a leaving member who has to focus on closing out healthy friendships.

I’m no longer just an American…

I’m no longer……….

………things are changing.

In the coming months we will pack, ship, move, get visas, get degrees, sell cars, sell stuff. And move to Vietnam. This blog will remain to tell our stories, our thoughts, our feelings, our happiness, our angst, our celebrations and our disappointments.

Will you join us in our adventure?

-Big E 빅이

A Change in Perspective

Leave a Reply

